South Mountains State Park

Location: South Mountains State Park, NC

Date: March 12, 2011

Distance: 1.5 hrs from Charlotte

I'm so excited I can't keep my eyes open.


Hurry it up back there! Let's go.

With the arrival of my dog backpack in the mail, I have turned into a sherpa overnight. See photos below. P has me hauling my own water, water bowl, snacks, and even leash on our hikes. What a drag.

A bit unsteady with the added weight on my back and sides, I swayed slightly on the trail as I crashed my way up the mountain. The pack slowed me down a bit, but not too much.

The state park is pristine with a beautiful welcome center and clean bathrooms. With many different trails to pick from, we decided on the Chestnut Knob Overlook.

We're almost to the top. The trails split here.

What is UP with P's hair?!!!

The view from the overlook.

Unable to climb the rocks, I waited below.

At the end of our hike, we went to check out the waterfalls. (Finally! WATER! I couldn’t resist a quick dip.) Next time we’re gonna hike to the falls.

 

 

This entry was posted in Charlotte shenanigans, Hiking, Mountains. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

